Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

not satisfied with progress, am I doing everything right?

nerdyweakling

Hi everyone,

I am new to weightlifting having started about 3 months ago. For the first 2.5 months I was working out my entire body every other day in a low quality gym mostly w/ machines and doing only 1-2 excersizes per body part. For the past few weeks and through this year I will be able to take advantage of the gym at my university to do better quality routines.

I generally do these routines, and do 3-4 sets with 8 reps for all of them:

Day 1: Chest, Back
db bench
db fly's
incline bench
incline fly's
decline bench

lat pulldown
cable pull
db lift (from the side)
chin ups (assisted)

Day 2: Triceps, Biceps, Shoulders
Shoulder press
db straight arm raises
lateral raises/reverse delt raises (not sure what these are, it is essentially like reverse fly's)

closed grip bench
rope pull down
single arm cable pulldown
dips

db hammer curl
reverse grip curls (w/ one bar)
seated curls (w/ 1 bar)

Day 3: Break

Repeat

Every morning post-workout or when I wake up on off-days I'll have a whey protein shake and a lot of cereal with added nuts (almonds, etc.). I try to eat either eggs (6-8), tuna, or a piece of salmon for lunch, and eat mostly carbs for dinner.

I am not sure if I am getting enough protein. I can't imagine eating more, I just don't get that much more hungry.

Please tell me what I am doing wrong and what I can improve on. Thank you!

I am 6 foot and weigh 175lbs. I am 28 years old. I have become much more toned and stronger during my lifting and have added about 5lbs muscle, but am nowhere near how I'd like to be.

I naturally have strong legs and also ride bike a lot so I don't care about legs at this point.