Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Help with putting on mass (chest and arms)

Wintermte

I have been lifting for about 8 months now. My original goals were to trim a bunch of fat off, and I have done that (I lost about 4-5 inches off my waist).

I have even seen some decent gains in muscle size in my shoulders, quads, and back, but I can't seem to gain much in my arms (bis and tris). My chest is coming along slower than the rest too.

Can anyone make any sugestions?

I am working each muscle group 1x per week with the following (routine taken from a Frank Zane book):

Bi's:
3 sets of 10 - 15 alt Dumbell curls
3 sets of 10 - 15 face down incline curls
3 sets of 10 - 15 incline curls

Tri's:
3 sets of 8 - 12 cable push downs
3 sets of 8 - 12 close grip bench press
3 sets of 8 - 12 overhead extensions.

Chest
3 sets of 8 - 12 30 degrees incline press
3 sets of 8 - 12 70 degree incline press
3 sets of 8 - 12 dumbell flys
3 sets of 8 - 12 dumbell pull overs

My triceps and pecs are reasonably sore after working, but my biceps seldom are. It seems that this is too many reps and too little weight, but I am at muscle failure when I am done.
Can anyone offer any advice? Or, am i just being too impatient?

Thanks
Dan

Gaining mass and body size takes time(years). Sounds like you have a bigger frame that at one time perhaps carried some fat. This is not a bad thing, because you have lost the fat and it shows your body can put on the weight.