Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Taking too long in the gym

slash747

Hey all,

Ive been hitting the gym now for the past 6 months and im slowly learning the tricks of the trade.

My workout partners who have been going to the gym now for a few years complain that I take too much time rest in between sets.

I usually hit the gym after work, and Im in there for a good 1 1/2 - 2 hours, 25 minutes for Cardio, 20 Minutes for abs ( I do abs almost every day ), and a little over an hour for the body part that im doing...

I usually do 6 - 7 exercises per body part 1 body part per day 3 sets of each , except back I usually do 8 exercises because my back takes longer to reach complete exhaustion...

The thing is though I do take like 2 minute breaks in between sets. Should I drop the weight and try to decrease my rest period in between sets? Or should I look for new training partners? :D

Also I'm 25 and I am dying to do my first cycle, everyone's telling me to hold off , im 5'11 185 pounds and I have about 22% body fat... I do have a hot head and tend to rush into things but shit man the WWF ain't going to wait forever j/k hehe

You are overtraining big time dude!!!!!!!

You should be doing 10-12 sets for large musclegroups such as chest and back and 8-10 sets for a smaller msuclegroup like calves,biceps, triceps. Overtraining is the most common mistake that you can make.

I do 3-4 excersises with 3-4sets per excercise for a large muclegroup.

Example of a chest day:

incline dumbell press=4 sets
flatbench dumbell press=3 sets
flies=3 sets
cables=2 sets