Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Squats / Deadlifts / Bench

MOONCAT1971

I am fairly new to weight training, (training properly 4 about a year) and I am looking for all over gains and muscle growth.....looking at posts and what people say, it would seem that experienced lifters keep coming back to three main exercises ...

Squats
Deadlifts
Bench press

-If I base the majority of my training around these three exercises am I likely to see results all over??
-Are these enough in themselves to see gains for example on the bicpes, tri's or shoulders, or will I need to continue spending a day focussing on indivdual areas aswell?
help v much appreciated......

By basing your routine on those three lifts you are taking agiant step in the right direction. I wish someone had showed me proper form on squats and deadfs when I started. I never used them until well after I started. They are huge when it comes to gains in size and strength. You could get by with no other exercises, but your lifting might get stale and boring. Other lifts you could incluse would be bentover rows, chins, shoulder presses, dips, skullcrushers, a crunch and perhaps a calf raise. Many people do far too many exercises. You should keep it pretty simple and just bust your ass on a few lifts. Good Luck!

Once you learn squats, learn to do front squats. They're a great exercise and complement to regular squatting.

INDEED!!!! all you need at the moment are squats, deadlifts, bench press and maybe curls, bent over rows, shoulder press and dips.

all these moves are known as compound movements and hit one muscle group hard but also use other, smaller groups as well and will stimulate the most growth possible.