Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Ruminations on the squat

RottenWillow

Plat Hero
Platinum
I've been squating seriously now for 18 months. I sure as hell DO NOT pretend to me an expert on it....not even close.....but I've have learned enough to know it is an amazing exercise that continues to suprise me.

It's is such a complex exercise. Like an onion, you just keep discovering layers to it, even after performing it regularly for a long time. There's so much room to screw it up, but so much potential for huge benefit. Just one exercise that can hit so many bodyparts so effectively, it's like simultaneously doing 3 exercises.

More than any other exercise I find it boosts my ego. Like climbing my own personal Mt. Everest. A big challenge that kinda scares you but leaves you feeling massively stoked when you're done.

It can target so many different areas depending on how you do it and what you want to see happen with your body.

1) Want an onion booty? Squat deeply, sit way back (preferably to a box), and press up with the heels.

2) Want full hammies? Concentrate on slow, controlled desents all the way down into the very bottom of the movement. Contol it so much you know you could completely freeze in position on the way down if neccesasy.

3) Want fuller quads? Sit a little more forward. Press up more with the balls of the feet.

And I'm not even touching on the PL variations that enable you to lift substantially heavier poundages. That's a whole universe of variations I know little or nothing about.

Anyone else have any squatting questions or comments, jump on this mofo. :D