Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Grocery Shopping Confessions

highoctane

The background to this post is that I have never lived on my own before the last month or so. And to go even further back, I shattered my forearm this summer and went through a brutal 16 week recovery which was a huge pain in my ass and cut me off from training for quite a while. So more recently, I'd say about 2 weeks ago I started training again pretty seriously (in all aspects from work outs to food, in general getting back into the healthy lifestyle, etc.). The interesting part, and I think it's kinda funny, is that when you haven't grocery shopped before, it's kinda a new process.

Here is my confession. All the people who always told me "stick to the outside of the grocery store" were COMPLETELY right. I have done extremely well both choice wise and money wise by sticking to that simple rule. Another thing that a coworker at the gym I work at said to me also stuck; "If you don't have it in your house, you won't eat it". So true.

These are for sure things that every single person on this board already knows, but I felt that I had to share my grocery shopping learnings simply because it's so much easier then I thought it'd be.

Also, on a side note, whoever posted that list of "clean foods" I could just kiss. So thank you!

Good ideas!! When I first did my own shopping I was like a kid in a candy store....literally....

Hey girl! Welcome back!

My first time shopping for food -- I had to be very selective because I was living on a grad student stipend and I rode a bike -- I could only buy what I coudl carry in my back pack.

Sassy69 said:
Hey girl! Welcome back!