Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Hormone fluctuations in women

Xilya

I am a 30 years old female, and I have been training very hard for the past 6 years. Next week I will be doing some blood work, and I have a question related to it. As far as I know, men will have a different testosterone level throughout the day, and it will be less after the train, sleep bad, and stress a lot. Does the same happen to women?

There are definitely lots of hormonal fluctuations in women, especially around the menstruation date. However, if I am not mistaken, they do not follow such a fixed patter as male's hormones do...

In a word - yes. The obvious difference is the testosterone to estrogen ratio. There will be others. As with men you're just as likely to have hormones affected by stress, lack of sleep, diet and even (yes it's true - although it's very small) the lunar cycle. The big one, as mentioned by Lev, is menstruation.

In other threads, depending on what's being tested, what for and how, even the use of Creatine can affect blood marker (like Creatinine). The same is true of a high protein use. You can either come off Creatine, in this example, for a few days or, as often happens, have another blood test a few days later to get a good set of averages.

In some tests (although not so much hormonal or blood tests) so-called 'white coat syndrome' can affect the results. It's more likely in Blood Pressure and heart rate tests. People get nervous and so the numbers are skewed.