Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Need Advice

sprwpdl

Hi, I just joined a gym and I'm just starting out with the weight lifting and cardio. My goal is to lose weight. At the gym I'm at now, the trainer told me I should be doing 1 set of 18 reps, slowly. She said I could build up to 2 sets, but I would have to make sure to give the muscle a good amount of rest in between sets. But I have also been told that to lose fat, I should be doing a few sets back to back at a faster pace. What do you think?

hmmmm....one set of 18 reps.....

Use the weights to build/preserve muscle...leave the fat burining to diet and cardio

sprwpdl said:
Hi, I just joined a gym and I'm just starting out with the weight lifting and cardio. My goal is to lose weight. At the gym I'm at now, the trainer told me I should be doing 1 set of 18 reps, slowly. She said I could build up to 2 sets, but I would have to make sure to give the muscle a good amount of rest in between sets. But I have also been told that to lose fat, I should be doing a few sets back to back at a faster pace. What do you think?

I have never heard of one set of 18.

3 - sets of 12-15 or to failure maybe - but 1 set of 18?

sprwpdl said:
My goal is to lose weight.

I'm assuming you want to lose fat. Weight includes muscle too...which burns more calories per pound than fat. Most likely, you don't want to lose that kind of weight! Can you elaborate on your physique, goals, current training, diet, etcetera. I'm with

Please, fill us in...we don't know a thing about you...yet!

And welcome to the boards!:wavey:

for the record...I've never heard of a "1 set of 18 reps program..."