Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Advice on building chest relative to arms etc.?

jackbrannen

Hi everyone,

I've been lifting a little for a few years just to stay in shape. Recently, I've changed my routine to lift more each week and try to be more deliberate about bulking up.

I think I'm adding mass reasonably well, but my chest seems small in proportion to the rest of my body, even my back and especially my arms. I think the problem might be that I haven't been isolating my chest properly. I was doing normal, incline, and decline bench and some dumbbell flyes (pretty narrow grip, with palms facing my feet). I never felt like my chest got a great workout—even on days when I worked really hard and my arms felt like jello afterward, my chest never felt that way.

I Googled for exercises to isolate my pecs and learned that I should probably lose the benches, add cable crossovers, change my dumbbell flyes so that I am going as wide as possible and holding the weights so my palms face each other.

Am I doing the right thing? And have I diagnosed the problem right, or could there be other issues going on here?

Thanks a lot for any advice,
Jack

Isolating is more less for targeting specific areas, but doing cable cross overs and flys arent going to add mass. Stick to the bread and butter...BB bench or DB flat decline and incline, no fancy stuff. Also toss in some heavy tri movements like weighted dips and CGB, that will help add to your bench. Lift heavy and eat

Thanks for writing, 2diezel.

Isolating is more less for targeting specific areas

Is this a typo? I'm not sure whether you meant "more" or "less."

but doing cable cross overs and flys arent going to add mass.