Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Taking a week off after 7 weeks?

nerdyweakling

I started lifting in July (with only access to machines), but really picked it up late August. About 7 weeks ago I had to take a week off after I hurt my lower back, but have done a 4 day split since (day 1= back/biceps, day 2 = chest/tris/shoulders, 3 = legs, and 4 = rest).

I have felt great since but this past routine I have been really weak. I can't even lift what I could the previous week. It is as if 20% of my strength has been taken from me. I am eating great and getting enough rest (I even got extra rest last night to see if today would be better), but am simply unable to lift what I could previously.

This has just been yesterday and today. But it is convincing because it is across all excersizes and muscle groups. Tomorrow is legs, and then a day of rest.

Do you think I should take a week off after my leg workout tomorrow? I've read some people take a week off every 12 weeks, while some do only every 6 months....

Logically it would seem I shouldn't need a break, but I must say if I listen to my body I think it is telling me to take a rest. Otherwise I'll probably continue lifting these lesser amounts of weight.

Any advice? Thank you!

No big deal, just seems like you need a deload week. I would try taking an extra day off after your three days of lifting, then on the next cycle do your usual routine but with 50-60 percent of the weight.

You may also want to add the weight back onto the bar slowly instead of trying for your old numbers right after the deload week, it'll help you consolodate some of that strength.

Thanks.