Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Starting Strength--Definately THE noob program to use

mlcampbell43

Hey all! I hope this doesn't come off wrong. I am a complete beginner to weightlifting and I'm 36. Actually, 7 monts ago I was 285 lbs. I didn't lift to start out. I just ate a 1500 cal or less diet and walked alot!!! Anyway, when I decided to start lifting I just didn't head into the gym and look at equipment and say, "Oh that looks good, lets do some of those!" No, I was lucky enough to find this site and run into alot of good people who didn't mind helping a noob, a special shout out to Needto (a huge help and a great guy IMO). As I was saying, I did alot of research and read about alot of different programs. I noticed on this site, however, that alot of people were recommending Starting Strength. So, I don't want to overstep, I don't know very much yet, but I do know this. If you are starting weight training for the first time, no matter your age, and your goal is to get stronger (which it should be for all noobs IMO), then look no further than Starting Strength! Again, I'm not talking to people that have been doing this for a while, I'm giving my opinion only to beginners such as myself. Starting Strength is the SHIT. Here are my stats and the weights on my lifts. I have only been doing this program for a four weeks and when I started I hadn't lifted weights for over 12 years.

January 11th
Weight 227lbs

Squat - 145 x 3 x 5
Bench -135 x 3 x 5
Deadlift- 195 x 1 x 5
Overhead Press 75 x 3 x 5

February 5th
Weight 225

Squat - 245 x 3 x5 + 100lbs
Bench - 185 x 3 x 5 +50lbs
Deadlift -260x 1 x 5 +65lbs
Overhead Press 105 x 3 x 5 +30lbs