Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Physiology of calves

ryno9000

Can someone please explain to me how a seated calf raise focuses on the soleus while a standing calf raise focuses on the gastroc? I am a personal trainer, and I even referenced my text for this, and have no decisive answer.

The way I see it - both soleus and gastrocs are responsible for plantar flexion, sooo....how does the angle of the knee take out one muscle or the other? Especially when both soleus and gastrocs exist between the heel and the knee joint. Anyone?

It's not that one position "takes out" one muscle or the other. The gastroc is attached at the top to the femur, whereas the soleus is attached to the lower leg bones. Therefore, when you're sitting the gastroc is in a slackened, disadvantaged position, while the soleus is unaffected by it. As a result, the soleus is "emphasized."

It's similar to how arm position can put the triceps long head in particular into an advantaged or disadvantaged position, for emphasizing different parts of the triceps. The body will do a movement the easiest way it can, with the strongest muscles available, so placing one muscle in a disadvantaged position will result in other muscles being emphasized.

Standing with knees locked stretches the gastrocnemius. This is why it's important to keep your knees locked when doing standing calf raises.

Seated, like Cato said leaves gastrocnemius slack and disadvantages, therefore soleus takes more of the workload.

The same principle applies when doing leg curls. Plantar flexion decreases involement of the gastrocnemius since it is slackened. Dorsi flexion stretches the gastrocnemius out and allows it to contribute more to the movement.