Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Feeling OLD (bought a new TV last night)

kx250rider

First, let me say I'm a CRT holdout, and in fact still have a 1965 Zenith 21" color TV which works perfectly; with a converter box and rabbit ears. But my wife of course likes a bigger screen, so I had procured a Sony KE-61XBR950 61" plasma set, which cost $18,000 in 2004 (I got it for $100 a year or 2 ago not working and repaired it). I used to be a Sony factory authorized tech, so no issues there. But when I learned that 2013 is the last year of the plasma TV, and neither my wife nor I can stand the picture on LCD sets (regardless of type of backlight; LED, CFL, OLED, whatever), I thought I better get a current-model plasma set while still possible.

I got a 65" Panasonic plasma at Costco, and it was the LAST ONE in the county. It's a lower end model of the 65" lineup, but it has the same panel as the double-the-price top model… Just less extra stuff.

Now for the reason I feel old: I had to read and re-read the owners manual to figure out what half the features are! I figured I could just plug it in, give it a signal, adjust the picture and watch. But no; I had to hook it up to the internet and "update the operating system", and then I had to tell it to quit linking with everything in the house on bluetooth (including my wife's Lincoln out in the garage!!!). And it kept trying to hook up to our wifi (and any other signal it saw). WTF; it's a TV set not a computer or home automation system…. at least I thought!

Just give me an on-off switch, a volume control and a channel knob.

Charles