Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

New, and hello!

nonsumdignus

Hello, I'm pretty new to real weight lifting and hope to learn here.

5'4", 39yo

I was a cardiohead in college & all my 20s, typically weight around 130lb, but ate a Food Pyramid compliant diet (heavy whole grains, low fat, low protein as a result) and destroyed my health. Spent my 30s mired in chronic fatigue, spent the last 5 years digging out of it after I finally realized I wasn't just lazy. Lost a bunch of baby weight (I have 5 children) and was 132lb, but utterly horrible mental health attacked me that same year. Then I took DHEA on a trusted MD's recommendation and gained 40lb in 6 months that has not budged ever since despite no dietary change. Last year I was finally, after ten years, having enough normal human energy to start working out again. I was drawn to Crossfit and tried the senior class for a few months, then was fatigued again for a few months, then was able to jump into the regular classes full steam starting this past February. I've had incredible strength gains, LOVE free weights, LOVE the mixed training and the great coaching (seriously - I've done years of all kinds of exercises with all kinds of coaches and the ones at this gym are top-notch, even though I know that's not true of all XFit gyms).

But I'm SICK AND TIRED of being fat. It's so exhausting to attempt pull-ups, push-ups, mile runs, any bodyweight work at all at this weight. And I want to try to keep building strength while losing weight ... if possible. Or maybe I need to be willing to lose a little strength while losing weight? I don't know how that works.