Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Which 5x5 to use?

Jayhawk21

Bill Stars Linear Progression 5x5 Intermediate vs. Pendlay 5x5 Periodized Version

I was under the impression that all 5x5 programs involved a deloading period which is where alot of muscle is accumulated but Bill Starrs Linear Progression 5x5 http://www.geocities.com/elitemadcow1/5x5_Program/Linear_5x5.htm has no deload or intesification stage. Would I be better off doing the Bill Starr - Glenn Pendlay 5x5 Periodized Version for Advanced Lifters http://www.geocities.com/elitemadcow1/5x5_Program/Periodized_5x5.htm. ?

I would say I am an advanced lifter because I've trained hard for five years, but I have never done a full 5x5 routine before. I'm really looking forward to getting the ball rolling, just wondering what the differences, advantages, drawbacks, between the two programs are. I desperately want to gain lean muscle mass and size so I can get from 170 to 190 lbs. Thanks guys

This is basiclly stealing what Macdow always says, but no lifter wants to periodize. Thet do so out of neccisity. That is, if a lifter could go into the gym and add weight to the bar every week(progress in a linear fashion) they would love to do this. Obviously, one can not add weight to the bar every week of their entire lifting career. If they could, you would have guys squatting 10,000lbs!

What I am getting at is that if you can progress with the linear version then that is the routine you want to do because you can be setting PRs every weeks. On the other hand, if you have to use the periodized program in order to progress, then do so. But with a periodized program you set PRs every 4-8 weeks.