Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Stronglifts 1x5 WARM UP for Working Set

jaytaylor84

Hi guys, my stats:
5'9
157 in early morning
i've been training seriously for about 7 months, i eat around 5,300 calories a day, i do the paleo diet and try not to stray too much from it..drink a gallon of water a day..anyways i've been doing stronglifts 5x5 for quite a while now and have eventually progressed to the point where my routine looks like this:

workout A
1x5 squat- 265
1x5 dumbbell bench press- 75's
1x5 pendlay rows- 170

workout B
1x5 squat- 265
1x5 overhead press- 130
1x5 deadlift- 310

i alternate between the 2 three times a week..please feel free to critique.. my MAIN concern is on the stronglifts website Mehdi doesn't really specifiy the proper warm up protocol, his is actually a bit crap, so i went with Mark Rippetoe's looking like this:
2 x 5 x Bar
1 x 5 - 40% 5 rep max
1 x 3 - 60% 5 rep max
1 x 2 - 80% 5 rep max

Does this look sufficient for my program ?

looks good to me... as you progress heavier you may want to add in a set at 20% and then maybe take off a couple reps here and there further down...
i dont really use %, i just progress with plates... just makes it easier so you dont have to figure out any math...

i will definitely do that then when my 5 rep maxes become increasingly larger, as i said i just switched to 1x5 and still have a lot more progress to make...moya do you think madcows would be sufficient after stronglifts has been exhausted?

madcow has a great program...