Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

New to Powerlifting Equipment Help??

Hey I have just entered into a local powerlifting meet....my first one. I have never used equipment before. I have been doing some research and I have a few questions:

What Is the difference between a Singlet and a Suit?

Are erector suits effective by themselves?

Do I need a suit for deadlift as well?

I have been bodybuilding for about 5 years now and never used any equipment other that a belt.
These numbers are all raw if this helps?

Bench 425

Squat 585

Deadlift 505

Thanks! This stuff seems like it can get confusing!

:)

BBislife-

Those numbers look great for being Raw. Lemme see if i can answer some of your questions.

Depending on if you are lifting in a raw or equipped oganization, you will more than likely need a singlet AND a suit. You will need the singlet for the bench, and I choose to wear mine in the DL as well.

Not sure what you mean by erector suit. If you are talking Sq suit, do some searches on what equipment is legal in your federation. Materials, plys, designers, all play an important role in selection of such(this is a WHOLE other thread in itself).

Looks liek you have plenty of strength, so if you are lifting in feds that allow more(stronger) equipment/APF, IPA, WABDL/ I would definately look into denim for your sq and bench gear. ==BUT==Denim has a groove all to itself, so you might need to find someone in your area to help you with forms in these.