Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

health side effects of keto diet???

sd526

although staying in ketosis is a good way to burn body fat and ketones are a relatively good source of energy, from my research i see that a keto diet can have some consequences if youre not careful. im not a doctor (...yet... im a med student) but from what i know, the brain does not utilize ketones well. in fact, some reports from medical studies claim that the brain can only function properly on glycogen, and dependence on ketones can lead to brain tissue deterioration (i can get documentation for anyone who wants it). now, this seems to be contradicted by the countless people who tout the keto diet for its fat loss benefits, and dont ever claim to experience any side effects besides maybe having bad breath. i would like to know if anyone who has been on a keto diet has had any side effects such as memory loss, inability to concentration, and anything else that could be relevant. any input would be greatly appreciated because im compiling data for a report next year.

My friend, I did my thesis writings on Dieting, and I can assure you that you can think very clearly while in 'Ketosis'. I have used "Fat-Fast" ('Ketonic' based diet) which let's you take in
BMR (basal-metabolic-rate)-50%...BMR= weight x 12...So, in fact, while in Fat-Fast 'Ketosis' for 8 weeks straight, I had no memory loss nor did I experience any problems with concentration. You have to remember that supplements are always used when dieting, I used norephedrine HCL (part of Adipokinetix), in conjunction with ephedrine to help concentration and appetite control.