Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

bulk/cutting Q

Jeus

I've been working out religiously for about 6 months now and have been watching my diet a lot. I have seen great results so far. I'd like to get some mass but I'm reluctant to really up my calories/gain weight because I always seem to just get a flab around the waist. I was thinking, is it safe to assume that if I keep my current weight stable and continue work outs/proper food, I will gain muscle/lose fat simultaneously? Or do I absolutely have to gain weight to make gains? Also, what would be a good rate to gradually up my weight? How much can muscle/fat ratio change in a month or so and how often could I allow to add 2-3pounds without getting flabby? I'm 6'1'', around 168pounds. Any feedbak would be greatly appreciated.

You can not do both anywhere close to optimally at the same time. This is because your body typically exists in either a whole body anabolic or whole body catabolic state, based upon hormonal levels, which is primarily determined by caloric intake via leptin. Eat alot and anabolic hormones (test, GH, t3, insulin, etc.) are high, diet and they are low.

Obviously, you cannot diet and overfeed at the same time. But you can do short cycles of each. Myself, and a few others have been experimenting with an isocaloric version of a TKD with great success.

So what's a good cycle of gaining/losing a couple of lbs. to ensure keeping a good part of growth while losing fat?