Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

PROTEIN SUPPLEMENTS:YES or NO?

PANTS

Seems like a crazy notion, but has anyone given up the protein shakes and noticed a drop in gains? I doubt it very much.
I've just had 3 weeks with no protein supplementation and my gains where still good. Strength/ mass increased.
SO WTF is the deal?
As an gym manager I receive plenty of government literature. The majority states that "protein supplements are a waste of money".
So what do you guys think?

This question is very subjective.

Basically, if you get enough protien in your diet then there is no reason to use shakes, exept maybe post workout, for a higher rate of absobtion.

I only use shakes if there is no way to get a solid meal, or post workout. I put in maybe 2 a day. Real food is always better, a lot of people use liquid meals for weight loss diets. I find getting your protein from real foods will increase gains more.

"PROTEIN SUPPLEMENTS" = supplementation of your daily protein intake

so if you already take enough protein (in real food) shakes are not required
shakes are just a convenient way to meet your needs

pants, i dotn really consider protein shakes a supplement, it is just a substitute to a high protein food and better for timing and convenience, that is all. r u still eating the same amoutn of protein as you were when u r on them, if so it is justl ike havign the shake, even a little better since whole food is prolly better. if ur not, in the long-term u will not experience the benefits you could if u were consuming enought protein in my opinion.

Anthrax said:
"PROTEIN SUPPLEMENTS" = supplementation of your daily protein intake

so if you already take enough protein (in real food) shakes are not required