Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Some thoughts on the BENTOVER ROW

Vortexx

Lately I have been focussing on the bentover row in quest for thicker lower traps and thickness on the lats, and even some wider lower lats as a bonus.....

I studied and experimented with the motion (grips, angle, speed, Yates style, perpendicular to the floor style etc..).

What I learned was that there are many variations but some seem to be more effective than others. Maybe it has to do with individual biomechanics, but here are my TWO favourite variations and I tell you Why:

BUILDING THE LOWER TRAPS:
- wide grip
- torso at approx. 60 degrees angle
- pull bar to lower pecs
- force yourself to keep shoulders down
- hold the peak contraction for 2 seconds

BUILDING THICK LATS AND WIDER LOWER LATS:
- slightly within shoulderwidth grip
- Yates style, torso at 80 degrees angle
- pull bar to lower abs
- force yourself to keep shoulders down
- power movement, dont hold the peak, just apply heavy weight
- Alternate each workout with overhand or reverse grip

Generally , the closer the grip, the more biceps involvement and the more upright the torso the more weight you can use... Thats why we choose to build thick lats and wider lower lats with heavy weight, a continuous explosive motion, a close grip and an allmost upright torso, all to promote to use maximum weight.