Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

I am a part of the problem - Toning Myth

Gladiola

I'm an aerobics instructor, and as such, I teach 'muscular endurance' classes (BodyPump & others). Light pink dumbells & tons of reps.

Last night I was at the women's club lifting (I'm rarely there anymore). Of course, I was one of the only ones doing free weights at all, let alone heavy weight. I saw a girl doing bicep curls with 5lbs (her arms weren't scrawny & she was nowhere near fatigue, she coulda handled more). Her form was quite good - it occurred to me she may have taken some of the fitness classes.

and I may have been the instructor. I remember FitFossil mentioning that women somewhat propogate the horrendus 'Toning myth' that light weight/hi reps is best. I agreed. Last night I realized *I* am one of those women. :(

BUT - whenever I teach those classes I always make an effort to educate as much as I can. "This is muscular endurance, not strength training. Hit the weights & work to failure for strength." If it weren't for these classes, I know that many women would never get ANY resistance training at all. At least they also can learn proper form in the class.

So should I be feeling bad? :devil:

Oh MY, whatever are we going to do with you???? Maybe whap ya over the head with a pink dumbell!!! These women are going to go to these classes whether you are teaching them or not. It puts you in a perfect position to teach about REAL resistance training - I would use it as such. Even the fitness chicks in the mags preach the high rep gospel because basically women don't want to hear LIFT HEAVY - sadly the truth doesn't sell very well.

Temple01 said:
These women are going to go to these classes whether you are teaching them or not.