Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Back Squat Question / also trying to train my mom

fearfour

Hi everyone! I hve used this forum as a reference for the past couple of years, but only now have had a concern that I wanted to post to see if I can get some feedback.

I have been lifting for about 3 years, and within that timeframe have managed to lost about 50 lbs of bodyfat, and am 32 yrs old, am now sitting at about 145 at 5'6", DL245 BP135 PP105.

I have long avoided the back squat doe to the fact that I had a badly broken ankle 4 years ago, and whenever I squatted anything above about 135 it would act up on me.

For whatever reason, the DL has never bothered the ankle.....

But I would love to start squatting as I recently have had some friends get some great benifits from this lift - and it is a major lift after all - I should be able to add it back into my lifting.

Anyone with a bad ankle have any tips?

Also, I have been training my mom, who is 62. I hate to say it but she is not making the progress I would have hoped for. That being said, I am sure that I am doing her bone density some good regardless of poor strength and muscle gains. My mom qualified to swim in the 72 olympics, and I am somewhat suprised that her body has so little ability to whip itself back into shape. To give a bit more detail, she in not particularly overweight at about 140 and 5'4", in face she did recently lose about 20 lbs - my concern is that she lost muscle.

Any experience with women in that age range? I think that any lifting is fantastic, and granted I am 32 - I want to encourage her but not push her too hard. For example, though, she is still working with just the 45lb bar on the bench after about 2 months of 3x week training........