Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

What are your best calf workouts??

Choppercty

I have been lifting weights for the past 7 years. I rarely workout out my calves. My thighs are at a nice size, but my calves are small. I was looking for any suggestions on calf workouts that would increase size and strength.:confused:

I've never had good results from weight training for calf development.My best gains came from hiking or sprinting up steep incline trails alternating periodically with bodyweight single-leg calf raises for high reps.I think the best calf exercise in the gym is donkey calf raises training one leg at a time with or without drop sets.

I heard this before but have yet to try it. Do a set of 100. 100 are you nuts !!!! Pick a weight and exercise (standing, sitting, donkey whatever) and do as many reps as you can. Wait 10 seconds and do more, wait 10 seconds and do more...until 100. Calfs are a strange muscle to work so you have to try different things. They are also like abs in that you have to train them every other day. They are not a muscle group you only train once a week. Think of it a 1 day abs and 1 day calfs, repeat.

Strider said:
I heard this before but have yet to try it. Do a set of 100. 100 are you nuts !!!! Pick a weight and exercise (standing, sitting, donkey whatever) and do as many reps as you can. Wait 10 seconds and do more, wait 10 seconds and do more...until 100. Calfs are a strange muscle to work so you have to try different things. They are also like abs in that you have to train them every other day. They are not a muscle group you only train once a week. Think of it a 1 day abs and 1 day calfs, repeat.