Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

what is the right age to start lifting

890polo

Bros, what's the minimum age to start developing muscle lifting weights, my kid is 14 and he obsessed with it, I wonder if lifting at a very young age can cause stunt his growth. ANy restrictions on excersises he should be doing?

It is perfectly healthy for children to lift weights. I am not sure where that myth came from that lifting weights will stunt a child's growth but it has no scientific background behind it at all. I think because a lot of bodybuilders are short people associated weight lifting with preventing growth? I am not sure.

I started lifting weights at the age of 12. I am 6'1 so it obviously didn't effect my growth.

A lot of studies have shown that any muscle you develop before you turn 18, you will keep for the rest of your life.

I 100% encourage children to lift weights. They obviously shouldn't be squatting 1 rep maxes but training in a 10-15 rep range is perfectly healthy and a great idea!

If your kids are interested in lifting weights, I encourage you to take them under your wing and support their interest. Let them workout with you and teach them proper form and technique. It'll keep them out of trouble. I never got into drugs in high school because I was so focused on athletics and sports.

All my friends who didn't play sports ended up getting into drugs.

Bros, what's the minimum age to start developing muscle lifting weights, my kid is 14 and he obsessed with it, I wonder if lifting at a very young age can cause stunt his growth. ANy restrictions on excersises he should be doing?

At such age I would say more optimal is to do something like gymnastics or anything that provides more flexibility, mobility and performance.