Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Thoughts on rep-ranges

Tweakle

Someone on another board posted that he'd had great success with higher reps, and that got me thinking.. I've always trained in the 4-6 rep range, which has made me reasonably strong but I'm lacking the size I've been after since I started training

Thinking about pushing my reps up to 10-15 for a couple of months and seeing where that takes me in terms of development, it should be good for my joints to take a break too. I'm speculating that for .e.g. benching 315 x 15 for a few sets would result in better development than loading up 385 and cranking out tripples... adding a heavy day every 2-3 weeks should help keep my max's from coming too far down I hope.

anyone else had any size boost from switching to higher reps? you keep hearing about how bbers made the switch to power lifting/powerbuilding and got bigger but seldom the other way round

depends on a lot of factors. I dont have much endurance and cant handle a lot of volume. I have always had some good strength and explosiveness (sprinted for 3 years at a pac-10 school) and have found I grow well in the 5-8 range and i attribute it to a high concentration of fast twitch fiber. Everybody is different so learn your body and what works for you, its the only way you'll ever maximize your gains. That said, i'll switch it up and go higher every so often for a 'shock' but the bulk of my sets are under 8 reps

Tweakle, a program like HST would fit the bill for you, if your goal is added mass along with restoration of the joints. Many people have found that they gain a good deal of mass when they switch over to higher rep ranges from lower ones, like going from a PLing-esque routine, to a more hypertrophy oriented one.