Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

switching from full squat to parallel squat

R

revexrevex

I've always done full ATF squats, never stopped at the parallel. My lower back always rounded once I went past parallel, though I did not pay much attention to it. Now that I am approaching heavier weight (beyond 225) on squats, I started having enormous back pains. The pains that travel from your right glute to your left glute, sometimes down your leg, at times I was unable to sleep. I tried to stretch hip flexers, tried to add additional ab work, even got a new matress. The only way I was able to fix it was....... DEADLIFTS. I am no doctor but I seem to have a pinched nerve and deadlifts would always release it. I felt great after deadlifts, no pain whatsoever, but the next time I would squat again it would come back.

So unfortunately Im going to go with parallel squats, probably will add 100 lbs to my rep max on the positive size lol.. Well it is better than not squating at all! Any opinions?

Could be your form

at a guess - from my own experience, your squatting with a fair bit of forward lean with a more hip back style squat, rather than a more knees forward and upright style?

your right bro. I just go down in the most natural way possible, even if it means knees beyond toes. Also there is a great lean forward though I try to pushup with my head straight up. I use pretty narrow stance too. Its ridicolously funny.. as soon as I go past parallel... boom flexion between lower back and gluteus maximus, I can't even control it.

Knees over toes if fine