Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Sumo or Conventional

Sergeant

I am new to P.L. but have always done Conventional. Recently have started doing half my sets Sumo. I feel the Sumo is more like a half squat. Are there any benefits to either? What stance are the bigger lifts being attained with? If I use the Sumo do I have to worry more about overtraining along with the squat? Should I stick to one stance or are there benifits to training both stances?

Sorry for all the questions.

I dont think you can go wrong with either. Both work. I would experiment with both and which ever feels more comfortable use it. I have tried both and i think sumo would be easier but it just feels awkward to me. With sumo its harder to get moving and easier to lockout. Conventional its the opposite.

From what I've heard sumo puts more strain on the inner thigh. Therefore if your legs are strong all around then you can easily do all type of deadlifts if you feel that your doing less weight with convesional then do those, if not then do sumo's.

Don't forget

There are also variations in sumo stance. Ed Coan used to pull a narrow stance sumo, with his legs about out to his squat stance width(+/- a couple of inches). And did quite well.

One of the guys who inspired me when I started training was Steve Scialpa and he pulled some great numbers(~800 at 198 or 220) with a wide stance sumo. You can do it either way.

Honestly I have thought of doing sumo stiff leg dls. Seriously. Might be a good assistance exercise for glutes. Worth trying when you feel like screwing around in the gym someday.