Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Stretching gurus / Injury rehab gurus...

T-Rage

I've been rehabilitating a lower back injury now for 6 months. I am basically just doing alot of walking, stretching and back strengthening exercises with slow progress.

I stretch every morning and night. In the morning I'll walk for 20 minutes to get the muscles, tendons and ligaments warmed up then I'll stretch. In the evening I'll do the same before doing any of my back strengthening exercises.

I've already been through some PT with a chiropractor which helped but only a little.

Everytime I stretch my back is so tight it feels like steel cables are back there. After patient stretching I'm able to get a good stretch but once I start doing things like walking, the dishes etc. it gets tight again.

Is this normal?

Has anyone else been through a similar injury and eventually felt good?

Could I possibly over do it by walking two times a day everyday?

Should I take some days off completely?

I have read so many different things from doctors, chiros, back surgeons, etc. They only know what they read. I need advice from someone who has actually been there.

Also, my injury for the most part appeared to be a strain/sprain of my lower back.

Thanks!

how tight are your hip flexors? alot of times those 2 go hand in hand. test it out. if your hip flexors are tight it will tilt your pelvis forward thus shortening your erectors. keeping them in this shortened position for a period of time can almost get them fixated and thus feel like such tension when its time to stretch. do you have a pretty big arch in your back? when you stand normally is there any tension in your glutes? simple checks to see if your hip flexors are tight and inhibiting your glutes.

Bignate,