Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Should training for RAW be different than training for a shirt?

Grantsdu

As of right now I bench RAW. Its not that I don't like the bench shirts but I have just never been exposed to them. I hate to jump into them and have problems. I'm new to powerlifting and I feel like I'm doing fairly good without it. My question is I have been training mainly flat bench ME and Speed. Very little speed work though. Should I be training differently since I'm not using a shirt or is flat bench the way to go?

Except for Jay, and maybe a couple others on here, very few focus a great deal on flat bench whether shirted or raw. Make sure you are changing up your max effort movement every week or two. Try floor press for two weeks, 3 board press for 2 weeks, declines for two weeks, 2 board press, reverse band press, heavy dumbells for a rep max, raw flat bench to a max, then back to floor presses. Max out every week, changing exercises at least every couple of weeks, and your bench will go up. Your shirt press will not go up, in general unless your raw bench goes up, and your raw bench will not go up, generally unless your shirt bench goes up. Either shirt or raw, to get more weight off your chest, you have to get stronger.

B.

All that I have been doing is 5 setsof flat bench.
set 1 12 reps
set 2 8
set 3 5
set 4 3
set 5 3 I generally work up to my pause max or right at it.

I guess I will have to try to talk the guys I workout with to try floor presses and board presses. If they won't I will just have to get them to spot me. I can see I still have a hell of alot to learn about this sport if I want to be good.