Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

pecs

noahfor123

i started lifting about 3 months ago, and although my bench press has gone up about 80 pounds it seems my chest hasnt grown at all. it is sore after for a couple days after every work out, i do like 3 sets of 6-8 reps with my last two sets to failure, for three exercises. For the whole three months i have never done an arm workout and my arms have never been sore, but they seem to be growing way faster than my chest. why is this?
with my biceps flexed my arms are 14 inches, what would be a good size based on my arms, for my chest. right now it is 40 inches.

Yes, try some new movements and hopefully that will spark some growth. It also may be your diet, make sure you taking in a good ammount of liquid protein after your workouts and eating enough calories.

Benchpressing is a multijoint movement, individual biomechanics and muscle make-up can cause other parts than the chest getting the brunt of the stress, but do not debunk the bench yet!

Studies have shown that people just starting out in the first months were able to build more chestmass with pecdeck machines than benchpressing because benchpressing requires much more neurologic coordination to get the right groove at an adequite weight, however after a while, when coordination is established and the weight has surpassed a certain treshhold free weights become often superior to the machines.

One of the best exercises for chest in my opinion is the incline and flat dumbell press. It"s A marriage of relatively heavy weight and decent isolation. Bang out 6-8 reps of these.

A nice program would be:

8-6-6 incline (35-40 degrees) dumbell press
8-6-6 low-incline (15-20 degrees) dumbell press
8-6-6 low-decline (-15 degrees) dumbell press