Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Need help (Bill starr's 5x5) please

UWOshDave

I'm a newbie when it comes to 5X5 routines. I've been lifting for 4 years though. I have been doing Starr's 5X5 intermediate routine, and I'm in week 7. My weights have been going up every week until last week. Last week I failed with my bench (only got 265 three times) so I tried that again this week and same thing happened. I got all the squats but my form is going to hell, same with bent over rows.

Here's a link to my journal on bb.com:
http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?p=11769357#post11769357

So I know that I need to do something. My question is what should I do? Should I just recalculate my maxes and start over? Switch routines? Bump it back a couple of weeks? As I said I should really do this since my bench isn't going up anymore and my form in squats today (the heavy set) was terrible (almost half squats).

And if I do recalculate my maxes, what could I do for this week's wednesday and friday? Just bump the weight down or recalculate em before wed and fri and do those weights?

u could try resetting the weights 2-3 weeks back and work from there or u could change the rep scheme up.. like maybe 8x3?

carlsuen is right go back 2-3 weeks, deload, focus on strict form and if you
want to you could also change the rep scheme. however, if you like it the way
it is just stick with it.

If I were you, I'd try the simpler solutions first. The easiest thing to do would be to reset the weights back a little (maybe 3 weeks, or if you feel comfortable at this point, just use your discretion), the first 2 weeks will serve as a deload by default and you can probably bust through this plateau when you return to these weights.