Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

My first day training strongman!!

KillahBee

While you read this keep in mind - I am just beginning, I am not really that strong anyway, and I have a shoulder injury.

Anyway, went to the A.R.T. doc yesterday and he made my shoulder feel better than it has in months, so I figured today would be perfect to do a little strongman with some very amatuer implements I made.

Implements used:
2 curl bars with some plates.
2 50 pound sand bags I bought and wrapped in duct tape.

I am in the process of making a sled and buying a keg.

Here is how the day went. Like I said, I didn't even really know what I was doing (somewhat), but gave it a try anyway!
I found a parking lot about 5 miles from my apt. with ample space and seemed to be out of the way. The only problem is that it is part of a huge corporate office space.

Farmers walk:
used the curl bars, about 65 pounds in each hand.
walked the width of the parking lot, from one end to the other. then walked from one end to the other and back. turning is hard as hell!
It is also funny cause I am sure that I could do this with 65 dumbbells with much ease. it's the distribution of weight that kills you here.

Stone loads:
used the 50 lb. bags of sand wrapped in duct tape. I actually found a large stone wall surrounding the lower parking lot that I used. it was about 5' 1/2" high.
Picked the bag up off the cement, walked about 30 yards to wall, up a curb, then loaded it onto the wall. I then sprinted back to the starting point and did the same with the second bag. When both were loaded, I grabbed both together and walked them back to the starting point as fast as possible.

Yoke walk: