Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

lifting for overweight person

Falsiao4

I'm 5'6 and weight 100 kilos, that's right I'm freaking over weight and that's causing me joint problem and shin splints, I started my diet last week and I have been running every other day, I would like to ask you guys between weight lifting and dieting or intense cardio and dieting which one will help me to lose weight faster, I have seen some cases of fat guys that do weight lifting and they turned into a combination of muscle and fat and I don't want that, thank you for your advice.

The truth that most don't want to hear is the basic compound free weight exercises can be key to changing body comp. In an ideal world, if you were starting from total novice, you'd have a quality trainer teaching you to squat, deadlift, bench, and military press. (Chins too, but those don't really need to be taught).

The weight training part of the equation can be whatever you want it to be. It can be geared toward maintaining muscle while dieting, it can be geared toward pure strength, you can change some variables like rest between set and bring a cardio element to it, whatever. There's nothing about it that makes you fatter.

Pay attention to measurements rather than weight if you get seriously into weight training. Compare your waist measurement to your thigh measurement for instance. If your waist to thigh ratio is 1:1 you're obviously in elite shape. If you're waist to thigh ratio is 2:1, you're about half dead.

Because muscle weighs more than fat, folks that rely totally on scale readings can be making fine progress and think they're totally failing.

The truth of the matter is you need both.