Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Lagging Arms - new routine

Sim882

I have been using something similar to 5x5 for 6 months (current pick in avatar, very recent), and I am told by friends that my arms are lagging behind the rest of my body. I'm not sure the avatar really picks this up, but I feel its true, particularly the triceps.

The differences to the 5x5 routine are
- I do bench and dips in workout 1 and 3
- I do pull ups/chins instead of barbel rows
- I do standing military and upright row on workout 2 (but just 3 sets each)
- I haven't been doing the linear progression thing, I tried this, but not working to failure bores me. I still have made constant progression though, although it's not always smooth. My bench has risen from 70kg to 125 kg in 5 months for example, and I believe benching double my bodyweight (i way 69) is shortly in sight.

I am thinking of changing routine. It seems that most people on the board (according to the poll) think that the 5 rep range is not optimal which i have been doing, and I'm considering adding more direct arm exercises to compensate for my poor arms. I really cannot stand arm exercises (I find them so boring, and one of reasons I exercise is because of a chronic headache condition, and only demanding exercises such as sprinting, squatting etc can distract me from this), but me and a group of friends started lifting 9 months ago, and I'm sick of them having better arms than me (vain, I know) and pointing this out.