Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

If you don't train to failure, how do you know when to increase the weights?

siamesedream

So, this entire "failure" concept is something I recently began studying heavily and thanks to madcow pointing me in the right direction again, I realized training to failure is absolutely not ideal. However, ever since I started lifting 9 months ago I've trained every exercise of every workout to failure, and this was how I could guage whether or not I needed to increase the weights.

Not training to failure is something completely new to me so I'm not quite sure how I would know to increase the weight used unless I had some sort of failure mechanism to know if my strength has gone up or not. Of course, with the 5x5 that problem is taken care of for you with planned progressive overload and the like, but say one is doing a custom program and wants to know when to increase the weights. How should that guy know when to increase?

When the weight feels easy enough, increase it. Hell, you can increase it every time you hit all your target reps, but some may wait a bit so they are insured continued progress.

I say keep it simple and just try to increase the weights each time. A couple of things help with this:

First, if you have some microplates (something like these), you can add small amounts to the bar, even if it's only 1lb per week.

Second, if you base your training around the big compound movements, not only are they better for stimulating growth than isolation movements, but they have a couple of side benefits. a) you shift more weight, so it's easier to add relatively small amounts and b) they're based around the barbell, so you can use the microplates. I can't remember last time I used a dumbbell :)