Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

I want to start doing Pendlay rows instead of conventional rows

Xlajbf

Sorry for the potentially stupid question... my 5RM for conventional rows is 200lbs (~91kg). How much should I be able to Pendlay Row given that number?

I've never done Pendlay rows before and keep hearing that they are better than conventional rows, so I'd like to switch. That, and conventional rows are starting to strain my back a bit. I think the deweighting and the necessity to bend my knees more to keep my back parallel to the floor and still reach the bar on the floor will take some of the load off.

Are Pendlay Rows necessarily easier on the back than conventional rows? I have a bulging lumbar disc and deadlifting 300lbs is scary enough for me. I don't want to put myself at any greater risk for injury.

Thanks

Well if by conventional rows you mean something like T-bar rows at a 45 angle then I think Pendlay rows may be more uncomfortable on your lower back since you will be more parallel. But most people that have never done them have to use less weight in the begining so the decrease in weight may take some stress off your back. However, I think Pendlay rows are much better for the back development. You can get up to 300 on them but it takes awhile. Anyway try them for a bit and see how they do for you. Some soreness is to be expected. I still get a sore back on occassion and been doing them for 2.5 years.

Perp

Honestly I think pendlay rows and even deadlifting should probably not be performed if you have a very specific, current back issue.