Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

I have just completed day 1 of Rick Gray's muscle overload training

*The_West*

it went pretty well. it was a completely different kind of workout that i am used to, today would normally be my deadlift/back+bi's day.
the first day of any new routine can always be a bit iffy, as you are deciding what weight to use to get the most out of a new rep range, but i guessed it pretty well, apart from i need to go a little heavier on bicep curls and bent over rows, i completed the 6 sets of 6 reps a little too easily, but i definitely need to drop a bit of weight on the lateral raises-by set 4 i was really struggling and my form wasnt perfect on the last 2 sets. oh yeah, and the forearm curls (which i have never done before-OUCH) i really over-estimated the weight and had to drop after the 2nd set.
i am working out from home for this 10 weeks, so i had to substitute a few exercises, which rick says is okay to do. so to day's workout was upper body and went like this:
-bent over rows (subsituted these in the place of lat pull downs)6x6
-flat dumbell bench 6x6
-side lateral raises 6x6
-standing barbell curls 6x6
-standing tricep extensions with the hammer curl bar (substituted these in place of tricep pushdowns) 6x6
-forearm curls(thumbs 'under' bar, forearms resting across a flat bench)
6x20 i have never done these before and the burn in my forearms was literally painful!
week1 allows 45 seconds rest between sets. i have to say, i got a really good pump going. i replicate this workout on thursday. tomorrow is lower body, and i will update after finishing my workout.

i have just thought, i should probably give a brief explanation of the routine for those who are unfamiliar with it.