Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Are free weights really better than machines?

b8b8b

What do you experts say? I'm pretty new to all this so I would appreciate if you would tell me.

Thanks.

Yes.

Machines are fine for rehab and for isolation work if you're a Bodybuilder who needs to refine some aspect. Everyone else should be using free weights almost exclusively. Exceptions are the likes of pull-throughs and pulldowns if you're too heavy for chins or pullups.

The bottom line is that machines are restrictive and to train on them without also working the muscles with free weights will leave you with a lot of muscle imbalances that you won't even suspect you have. Your real-world strength will be just a fraction of your gym strength and correspondingly you're an injury waiting to happen.

Free weights work you much more and force your body to provide its own support and stability. You can get stronger on the machines but you'll do it faster and in a safer and more complete fashion with free weights.

I believe that there is a place for both.

And I'm not refering to the "machines" such as the ham curl machine or the pull down/press down. These have been around for 60 years. I'm refering to Hammer Strength and such that pattern themselves off traditional exercises.

Free weights provide the challenge of balance and control in addition to overcoming gravity. They are legend for building outstanding bodies and strength.

Machines offer safety and predetermined angles for maximum effort. They can allow a person who can not perform a traditional exercise such as bench presses, with an opportunity to develop power and size.