Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Each body part 2x a week?

rdel85

Is lifting each body part twice a week overtraining and not giving your muscles adquete time to heal? I have been doing this for about the past 10 months with moderate gains. I just joined a new gym and worked out with a trainer for the first week. All the trainers at this gym told me that I shouldn't hit each muscle group more than once a week in order to give them proper time to heal....Any comments?

rdel85 said:
Is lifting each body part twice a week overtraining and not giving your muscles adquete time to heal? I have been doing this for about the past 10 months with moderate gains. I just joined a new gym and worked out with a trainer for the first week. All the trainers at this gym told me that I shouldn't hit each muscle group more than once a week in order to give them proper time to heal....Any comments?

First of all, the trainers at that particular gym are morons.

There is no such thing as 'overtraining', just mismanagement of fatigue. How does your 2 x's a week routine look? I've made excellent gains at times squatting 4 times a week, it is all about where you are in training, your goals, and properly managing fatique.

I can't put on any solid gains without training 2x a week. Especially if you're young, eat properly, and sleep I would say training each muscle 2x a week is imperative. However I have seen routines where you work one muscle till failure once a week but have never really tried it myself, but I doubt this is what you're trainers had in mind.

Whats your workout split look like?