Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Dposey's Rippetoe Journal

Dposey

Hey everyone.

I've decided to create a journal to help keep track of my progress on Rippetoe's beginner's lifting program.

Stats: Age 18, 6', 177 pounds, 20% BF

Background: I've been lifting for around 4 months, most of it being done incorrectly. I just recently came off of a 4-day split that, while I felt helped me get accustomed to the major lifts, didn't really do much. I wasn't feeling like I was making much progress by doing each body part only once a week. That's why I'm using this program which was recommended to me by a few members and that I've read a lot about afterwards. Once I stop progressing I'll take a week to recover (Still lifting, but light) and then I'll transition into the SF 5x5.

Goals: I want to gain strength and muscle mass while at the same time keeping my body fat in check. 20% (Possibly 18%, it was taken with calipers and I have a lot of loose skin from previous weight loss) is a little high and if I can lower it while simultaneously building muscle that would be great. For this reason I'm going to be doing light cardio 2-3 days a week for 10-20 minutes at a time. I'll be joining the Air Force in the summer and I want to use all the time before that to gain as much strength/muscle as I can while keeping below the weight limit (197) to enlist. After I get out of basic training and into a routine I'll jump right back into it.