Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

can anyone solve this dilemma???

emmab

I am a beginner and my biceps are just not responding. The problem I have is that I have a very limited range of weight that I can lift. At the gym I can use 5kg dumbells, but can only do 1-2 reps of the next weight up (7.5) which frustrates me. Also, I have a fairly noticeable stronger left arm than right, and this makes doing barbell exercises difficult, as my weak arm gets stuck quite quickly.
Any advice for how to get some muscle growth happening when you can't use much variety in weight???

------------------
God give me the strength to lift all I can, the humility to accept what I can't lift, the wisdom to know the difference, and the determination to close the gap!!!

emmab
im assuming you are a female.
stick with the 5kg and try slowing your cadence down for your positive (curling) and negative(letting it down). try a 3 sec/3sec. so 3 seconds up, 3seconds down. slowing your rep speed will ensure you are stimulating the muscle and not using momentum or swinging the weight. another thing to try is a cable curl, you use a low cable and curl up using a single ( 1 arm)or bar type handle(both arms). the weight stacks tend to be quite adjustable in the lower range and you can use it to progressively build up strength.

another thing.
when you train your back what exercises do you do? if you incorporate alot of basic, compound pulling movements, it can help get your biceps stronger. what i mean: seated cable rows, lat pulldowns, dbell rows etc. all use the biceps as well as the back.

Dont even say the word chins to me...even at my strongest when I was a national rep swimmer I couldn't even do one proper chinup!!!