Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Calf Training

bommakr

Gents,

One lagging body part that i know some of us constantly want to bring up are the Calves. some say it can be dne easily others say its genetics and if you don't have them, you'll never get'em. I've been lifting for 10 years and have great definition but not the size i want. Any advice, routines, pictures, recommendations, splits, etc. etc. etc. would be awesome.

BMK

Gents,

One lagging body part that i know some of us constantly want to bring up are the Calves. some say it can be dne easily others say its genetics and if you don't have them, you'll never get'em. I've been lifting for 10 years and have great definition but not the size i want. Any advice, routines, pictures, recommendations, splits, etc. etc. etc. would be awesome.

BMK

You are standing on your caves all day, so you cant hit calves with high weights and just once a week.
Secondly calves like abs need lot off time under tension.Calves are slow twitch fibre and again they need time under tension.

Try

10 reps and 10 sec rest
20 reps and 20 sec rest
followed 30 reps and 30 sec rest
and 40 reps and 40 rest...last not least
50 reps and 50 sec rest -:)

Don't forget full range off motion and squeeze hard on the concentric....enjoy the pain

Nelson Montana calf routine:

Pick only one calve exercise. (I prefer the seated calve raise.) Your goal will be to
reach 75 reps.
Use a weight that you would normally choose for a twenty rep set.
Complete the 20 reps and continue until you can't do another rep.
Rest just long enough for the burning to subside (no longer than 10 seconds) and
continue with as many reps as possible, even if it's only 5 reps at a time.
Proceed in this fashion until you reach the target goal of 75.