Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Bill Starr's 5 x 5 program... Variation per Madcow2 (thanx) So here it is! K up now!

Re: Bill Starr's 5 x 5 program... Variation per Madcow2 (thanx) So here it is! K up n

Hi all

Im a novice-intermediate lifter who went on the 5x5 intermediate program 6 weeks ago.

ive managed to increase my squats by 80lbs but my bodyweight only went up by 8lbs and i think half of that is water weight as well. i am pretty sure i eat enough every day. my current strength is

squat; 300lb
deads; 280
bench; 180
barbell;150
military; 90

i also wonder whether it is normal to have such a huge strength gap between my squat and my deadlift?

MORE IMPORTANTLY; 1)i strained my wrist when i fell over and it hurts when i lift. its really minor but it provides a mental barrier that makes me think i cant do the lift when im doing my heavy sets. should i keep doing 5x5, take a rest or go do isolation excersizes that dont hurt my wrists?

2)i was lifting 290lbs easily last week but this week i started having trouble on the 220. it wasnt really trouble, i could do it if i really wanted to do it but it felt like i was putting in too much effort. in the end i only did 4 sets of 220lbs because i couldnt bear to add weight to the bar. is this whats called a plateau? am i to deload?

3) i think i should take a rest as well. from what i understand from the dual factor theory i should be going light on volume every couple of weeks. so my question is this, am i suppose to keep eating alot during my light period?

any advice would be greatly appreciated. sorry for the long post

Re: Bill Starr's 5 x 5 program... Variation per Madcow2 (thanx) So here it is! K up n

Hi all

Im a novice-intermediate lifter who went on the 5x5 intermediate program 6 weeks ago.