Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

The Bench Press

Original post was by wnt2bbeast:

Question for walking, cwick, and company.

I NEVER lockout. It places the stress on your bones for a second vs keeping it all on your muscles. Same reason i never touch my chest. I feel that if i touch the weight to my chest that my muscles are not contracted fully and start to stretch/relax. I prefer constant tension the entire time.

As is suspected, Bigdho benches the same way i do. I have been benching this way for 3 or 4 years now and absolutely love it. Plus, i am stronger than i ever have been these days.

I stop just short of lockout, unless im tired, then i will lockout for a second to catch my breath.

Try it...it will be difficult/different to start, but you should take off quite quickly.

and some say it's "half-assed"............it's def. easier to lift more if you don't go all the way down, UNLESS you are bouncing..........

JKurz1 said:
and some say it's "half-assed"............it's def. easier to lift more if you don't go all the way down, UNLESS you are bouncing..........

I not sure if i agree with this. In training myself and others, most seem to think it is more difficult to stop the weight while fully contracted than to touch one's chest. Plus it depends on how wide your grip is. I use a super-wide grip, so when i come down, my arms are at or below 90 degrees before i ever touch my chest. Plus this way helps eliminate some of the triceps assistance.

cwick0 said: