Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

5x5 hypertrophy variation

GlynnDiesel

Hi all

I'm new to post here but have been readin most posts on here for several months now and have been training with the 5x5 SF for 10 weeks now.

I've prevouisly trained with mainly 3 and 4 day splits in the past, training each body part 1x wk both HIT and volume style over the past 6 years and have always stuck to mainly basics. I've had pretty good results with this type training.

Only due to a bad wrist injury which stopped me training for several months and time away from the gym and muscle and fiction mags, gave me chance to do some internet research, led to info from Glen Pendlay, Madcow + others based round the 5x5.

Anway I've loved the 5x5 (never worked lower than 8 reps previously) so far and I'm only really slowing down strength wise on the bench but that aint no suprise as it's my shittiest lift and body part.

The only thing that worries me about the 5x5 is that there aint much varation on the rep ranges meaning over 5 reps and as I mainly interested in size not strength I wonder is it best suited for hypertrophy?

I'm sure I'm gonna get hammered here now but even Glen has posted that 5x5 aint necessarily best for hypertrophy and 10x10 is more suited for that purpose alone. I 'm aware that 5x5 should give a mix of both strength and size but I cant help but thing surely it's missing out on some extra hypertrophy by not including reps higher than 5.

Therefore anyone any ideas on a hyprid of 5s and 10s in a cycle or would you pretty much run a cycle of 5x5 then a cycle of GVT type 10x10 or 4x10 along the lines of what Charles Poliquin recommends?

Just after some ideas/oppions, goe easy on me, it is my first post after all.