Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Bill Starr Question

Andalite

Elite Bodybuilder
hi everyone.

ive been a member here for a long time but i dont post much.

im no beginner to weightlifting. ive been lifting for 3 years but i consider myself to be a beginner to curb ego problems :D

anyways, i post a lot on intensemuscle.com...im on dc training right now and im doign great..

but i dont want to get stuck on just one type of program for so long...ive been dc'ing for the last 4 months...come janurary (6 monhts of dc) i want to switch things up till may. i want to do bill starr's 5x5 program. but i have shoulder issues (lose shoulders) and i cant bench properly because of my phobia. i have an incline bench of 205x1 but a flat of 185x1.

so i cant do the simple 5x5 laid out because im too damn afraid.

but i came across this version of bill's program:

Bill Starr said:
Beginner's Strength Program by Bill Starr
From the Article "The Forgotten Factor: Strength" in Robert Kenndey's REPS! Magazine, Winter 2006 Edition, Page 104

Monday (Heavy Day)

Back Squats: 5 x 5 ramping to limit
Bench Press: 5 x 5 ramping to limit
Deadlifts: 5 x 5 ramping to limit or Bent-Over Rows: 5 x 5 ramping to limit
Incline Dumbell Press: 2 x 20
Calf Raises: 3 x 30

Wednesday (Light Day)

Back Squats: 5 x 5 using 50 lbs less than Monday or Lunges: 4 x 6 ramping to limit
Good Mornings: 4 x 10 or Stiff-Leg Deadlifts: 4 x 10
Standing Overhead Press: 5 x 5 ramping to limit
Dips: When you can do 20 reps, start adding weight and drop the reps back to 8
Curls: 3 x 15

Friday (Medium Day)

Back Squats: 5 x 5 using 20 lbs less than Monday
Incline Bench Press: 5 x 5 ramping to limit
Shrugs: 5 x 5 ramping to limit or Clean High Pulls 5 x 5 ramping to limit
Straight Arm Pullovers: 2 x 20