Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

New to wieghtlifting and need some basic info about diets, and what to look for?

I am new to weightlifting and have some questions about dieting. My stats are: male, 5'7, 140 pounds. I am in good shape.

My goals are to gain 10-15 pounds of muscle and be very toned.

I eat quite healthy. Lots of fruits and vegetables, milk, rice, meats, ect... I do not eat a lot of junk food, but do eat desert everyday and the occasional extra piece of pie and case of beer.

I have read that everyone is talking about stuff called "whey". What is it, what does it do?

I am also interested to know what I should eat to put on muscle. I understand protein is good, but anything else?

I am not interested in going to a special weightlifters store to buy shakes and special formula stuff, I just want to diet on things I can get from the grocery store.

I probably eat about 3000 cals a day if that is important.

Thanks.

Whey is a type of protein, the most fast absorbing infact. It is best to have a whey shake within 15 mins of
your workout.

When building lean mass the most important factors are clean food, LOTS of protein, lots of rest, decent routine, and lots of water.

You could do with eating around protein @ 200g/day
spread over 4/5 meals. You will have to eat more if you want to gain size, if you can munch cals @ 3000/day and still be lean then you are going to need to either cut back on cardio and raise calls by about 500/1000 or continue current cardio and raise the cals at minimum by 1000. Drink around 1/1.5 gallons of water per day.

Id be interesetd to see your cardio and lifting routines - they are VERY important!

hi smurf little pea,