Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Basmati rice instead of brown rice?

|D_J^B_J|

What are your thoughts on eating basmati rice as a carb source 1 - 2 times a day?

I have been eating brown rice for several months now, and I am just about sick of the stuff. Basmati rice tastes 10 x better but has a slightly higher GI rating of 51, meaning it is more likely to spike insulin levels and promote fat gain.

Oh, and for the record, I am still bulking at the moment, whilst trying to gain a minimal amount of body fat.

|D_J^B_J| said:
What are your thoughts on eating basmati rice as a carb source 1 - 2 times a day?

I have been eating brown rice for several months now, and I am just about sick of the stuff. Basmati rice tastes 10 x better but has a slightly higher GI rating of 51, meaning it is more likely to spike insulin levels and promote fat gain.
Oh, and for the record, I am still bulking at the moment, whilst trying to gain a minimal amount of body fat.

If you want to gain the most muscle with minimal fat gain possible then you'd have to stick to brown rice. But, seeing that you are sick of it and are bulking (gaining some fat anyways), i would think that it's ok maybe 4-5x/week to have a "cheat" meal using basmati rice. Just use it moderately while bulking; 7x a week is a bit much and especially too much if you do it 2x/day some days. When you start cutting, get rid of the stuff ASAP, lol.

that's my advice for you bro. :beer:

you might want to spice up the brown rice if the taste is killing you. I believe jenscat? was the one saying you can cook it with some hot sauce and you forget the crap flavor of it. i personally hate hot sauce (wimp) so im sure you could spice it up with other stuff to tolerate it better. Consider both options :beer: