Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Who here is self employed?

Taps

So tell me:

What do you do? How did you get into that field? Did you start from scratch, or buy/partner with an existing business? What prompted you to start working for yourself? What’s the biggest challenge you’ve faced? Has your income increased or decreased? Most importantly, is being self-employed something you enjoy?

I know a few posters are business owners (Velvett, HumorMe and Skywalker come to mind), but I’d appreciate hearing form anyone who’s planning on starting a business or has been self-employed in the past.

I just want to get a general impression from people who’ve been there.

I'm a graphic artist.
i work for a company during the day and do my own freelance artwork in the evening. which, is why i'm always on line.
i got into it since i was a teen and knew i wanted to be in the art field.

Call me old fashioned but I still say the secret to success is hard work....if you are self employed.

Assuming you have common sense, competency, and decent people skills. I would hesitate to recommend it though it is great at times.

Been s/e for 11 years now. It is friday night and I am making dvd copies right now....for a customer. Headed to Pueblo, CO bright and early tomorrow morning.

It is not boring though.

A current challenge is that I spend about $1000/mt keeping up with technology....and that is getting WORSE.

$1000 is a lot of money for a lowly photographer.

Taps said:
So tell me: